Oregon Change Of Address | OnlineCarRegistration.org

Change Of Address

Your car registration is an important legal document, so if your address changes, you may want to update your registration to match it. Changing your address on your car registration can be a hassle, but we've made it much easier by pooling all the information you need together in one place. Just select your state and click "Get Started."

The Car Registration Easy Guide™ is an independent value-add to official DMV services, which may be available for free or at an additional charge.
To download a guide specific to your needs, simply select a service and state above or find an official DMV site or local office.

Changing Address On Car Registration In Oregon

How to change the address on car registration in Oregon


The car registration process is one of those compulsory processes which a person needs to go through, while moving within the state of Oregon. The law in Oregon requires the residents to register their car within 10 days. Before starting this process, they need to get their address changed on the driver's license too. In addition to this, it's necessary for them to collect legal proof of their residence.

In Oregon, it is the responsibility of the tax collector to register the vehicles for the car registration. The tax collector along with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles provides appropriate services for the accomplishment of the car registration.

To maintain accurate, current records, the owner of the vehicle must report all the changes in the address to the Oregon Tax Collection Bureau. Along with the address, the owner is also supposed to submit the license plate number and insurance proof. Insurance proof is gained by insuring the car with any legal insurance company of Oregon. Registration notices are mailed as a courtesy just to facilitate the whole process. However, to keep the vehicle's registration current, the vehicle owner is solely responsible.

In addition to this, any vehicle being registered in Oregon must verify their VIN (Vehicle identification number). This service is also performed by the tax collector at the time of registration. Once the residential address is changed, license plate number and insurance proof is submitted and VIN is verified, the car registration is completed. A car registration certificate is given to the residents as a legal proof of the car being registered. However, initial registration fee of $225.00 may be imposed.