You need up-to-date registration in your state to legally operate your vehicle, so each year you'll need to renew it prior to its expiration date. If your expiration date is right around the corner, you've come to the right place. We'll walk you through the process of getting your car registration renewed as quickly and painlessly as possible. Just select your state and click "Get Started."
Renew your vehicle registration in Idaho
How to renew your vehicle registration in Idaho
It is required by the law that you register your vehicle in Idaho. Whether your car is used or new or you purchased from an individual or dealership you will need to register it. If your car is registered in another state it will not be valid you need to register in your current state.
When you register your vehicle for the first time it can be done in person within 30 days. After that yearly renewals must be done in person, online or by mail.
Follow these steps to renew:
- Click here to fill out and complete a vehicle title/registration form.
- Make sure to get your vehicle inspected. Inspections must be done at an inspection station or by an inspector that has been licensed. Once the vehicle passes inspection you will get an inspection certificate.
- Visit your County Assessor's office and bring the completed title/registration form with you along with the inspection certificate. In addition, you will need to provide proof of insurance, and the odometer reading, if the vehicle is less than 10 years old.
- If your vehicle was registered in another state you must also bring the original out-of-state title. If you can't get the title bring the registration document along with proof of sales tax payment.
- You can also order license plates. A regular license plate will cost you $25; the fees for special ones vary.
- The registration fee is different based on the manufacturer's model year or the vehicle's total weight.
- Title application fee which is $8.